Institutional Data Strategy Steering Committee

Terms of Reference

  1. Develop and champion the data strategy of the University.
  2. Ensure data strategy initiatives are aligned with the University’s mission, objectives, and obligations.
  3. Recommend policies and guidelines for Governing Council approval.
  4. Appoint members of a Data Governance Council and approve terms of reference.
  5. Appoint members of a Reporting and Analytics Council and approve terms of reference.
  6. Provide oversight for the Data Governance Council and the Reporting and Analytics Council.
  7. Ensure cross-alignment across the R&A and DG Councils to support the design and implementation of the institutional data strategy.
  8. Develop plans for a “Roster of Expert Reviewers”, establish mandate and appoint members.


Cheryl Regehr (Chair)
Vice-President & Provost
Ted SargentVice-President Research & Innovation, and Strategic Initiatives
Kelly Hannah-MoffatVice-President People, Strategy, Equity & Culture
Scott MaburyVice-President Operations & Real Estate Partnerships
David PalmerVice-President, Advancement
Bo WandschneiderCIO
Larry AlfordChief Librarian
Pierre PicheChief Financial Officer (Interim)

Melanie WoodinDean, Faculty of Arts and Science
Chris YipDean, Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering
Wisdom TetteyVice-President and Principal, UTSC
Gretchen KerrDean, Faculty of Kinesiology and Physical Education
Trevor YoungDean, Temerty Faculty of Medicine


For academic divisional members, term length will be 2-3 years and staggered to maintain continuity

Frequency of Meetings

The IDS Steering Committee will meet three times per year.

Meeting Documents

For members of the IDS Steering Committee, meeting documents can be accessed here.